Join Us at the BoF Skilled Summit: Closing Fashion’s Sustainability Gap

The vogue industry has 10 many years to do its section to prevent catastrophic local climate transform and an urgent duty to make improvements to the welfare of the workers who make it tick. But though trend models have stepped up their sustainability commitments, measuring development in a similar, standardised […]

The vogue industry has 10 many years to do its section to prevent catastrophic local climate transform and an urgent duty to make improvements to the welfare of the workers who make it tick. But though trend models have stepped up their sustainability commitments, measuring development in a similar, standardised way has been elusive, right up until now.

The inaugural BoF Sustainability Index benchmarks the overall performance of fashion’s largest corporations from formidable environmental and social objectives across 6 of the most significant subject areas for sustainable innovation in the coming 10 years.

Closing Fashion’s Sustainability Hole

What progress have manner organizations produced in dwelling up to their rhetoric in these sustainability categories? What does manner want to achieve up coming about the up coming 10 years to definitely cleanse up its act?

Starting off at 14:00 BST / 09:00 EDT / 06:00 PDT on April 14, 2021, BoF will convene foremost world wide industry experts, considered leaders and activists in sustainability and personnel legal rights for a 4-hour reside broadcast of interactive discussions and panel discussions. We’ll unpack the conclusions from the BoF Sustainability Index and define the methods that need to be taken around the coming ten years to align the field with world-wide weather goals and social imperatives.

The BoF Professional Summit will showcase speakers and moderators from across the field, from C-suite executives and business owners, to sustainability gurus, thought leaders and governing administration officers. New speakers will be introduced on a weekly foundation. In the meantime, browse the Index right here.

As an all-obtain BoF Professional member, sign-up now to reserve your spot.

If you are not a member, you can get edge of our 30-day demo to encounter all of the added benefits of a BoF Skilled membership, together with the Summit.

Linda Greer

Linda Greer

Linda E. Greer is a expert in industrial chemical air pollution, at this time doing work as a World Fellow with the Institute of Community and Environmental Affairs, the major environmental NGO in China. A PhD toxicologist by instruction, Linda has worked thoroughly to make improvements to US environmental legislation and coverage as very well as on voluntary company sustainability initiatives. She created Clean up by Structure, a eco-friendly supply chain initiative to reduce the influence of the clothing sector with money-preserving efficiencies.

Boma Brown-West

Boma Brown-West

Boma Brown-West potential customers the Environmental Protection Fund’s endeavours to remove poisonous chemical compounds from purchaser items. She works carefully with main vendors and consumer makes, advocating for intelligent chemical guidelines, bold corporate sustainability programmes and amplified benefit chain transparency. She released EDF stories The Five Pillars for Safer Chemical substances Management and The Roadmap to Sustainable E-Commerce. Boma has more than 15 years’ encounter in merchandise sustainability and levels in mechanical engineering and technologies plan from Yale University and MIT respectively.

Daniela Ibarra-Howell

Daniela Ibarra-Howell

Daniela Ibarra-Howell is the co-founder and main government of the Savory Institute, an international non-gain facilitating the massive-scale regeneration of the world’s grasslands via Holistic Administration. She has led the design and implementation of Savory Institute’s revolutionary world wide impact technique to deal with meals and water protection, and address local weather alter, together with the Land to Sector Software, the 1st verified regenerative sourcing remedy for foods and fashion models. SI’s network has productively regenerated about 13 million hectares of land globally. She is a co-founder of Grasslands LLC, a for-profit business that manages in depth livestock operations.

Edwin Keh

Edwin Keh

Edwin Keh is the chief govt officer of The Hong Kong Study Institute of Textiles and Apparel. He teaches supply chain operations at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania and The Hong Kong College of Science and Know-how. Edwin was formerly the senior vice president and main working officer of Walmart Worldwide Procurement. Prior to Walmart, he managed a consulting group that worked with corporations, nonprofits and charities on provide chain, manufacturing and products style and design. He has also held govt positions at various US buyer merchandise and retail providers.

Sanjeev Bahl

Sanjeev Bahl

Sanjeev Bahl is the founder and chief government of Saitex, a procedure of clothing growth, innovation and manufacturing in Vietnam. The facilities and devices are all designed on environmental effects reduction systems, with a core philosophy of creating positive social affect. His IT enterprise — SAI Electronic, is distribute about 5 countries and builds application remedies in the e-commerce and digital room.

Bahl splits his time among Vietnam and New York. His upcoming initiatives include things like bringing production back to the West and a undertaking into write-up-shopper recycled products and solutions to further more his exploration into sustainable producing.

Ayesha Barenblat

Ayesha Barenblat

Ayesha Barenblat is a social entrepreneur with a passion for creating sustainable provide chains. With about a decade of management advertising and marketing social justice and sustainability in fashion, she started Remake to ignite a conscious customer movement by means of advocacy campaigns, transparency scores and citizen training centered on building style a drive for fantastic. Prior to Remake, she led brand engagement at Greater Get the job done, a Entire world Financial institution and Global Labor Corporation partnership to guarantee secure and respectable doing work ailments in just garment factories.

Dawn McGregor

Dawn McGregor

Dawn McGregor sales opportunities feel tank China Water Risk’s get the job done to support corporates navigate increasingly disruptive and materials water and local weather challenges, as properly as transitional hazards in the supply chain arising from new laws in China. Dawn assisted make CWR’s achieve and engages thoroughly with the worldwide fashion sector, offering on-ground workshops in China, as nicely as keynotes and strategic input at European headquarters. Dawn earlier labored in a global financial commitment lender assessing geo-political risk, crisis administration and organization resilience.

Ritu Sethi

Ritu Sethi

Ritu Sethi is the founder-trustee of the Craft Revival Have faith in and the editor of World wide InCH, the on the net global journal of intangible cultural heritage. In addition she oversees the Asia InCH Encyclopaedia on the traditional arts, crafts, textiles of South Asia.

She serves on the advisory board of IRCI UNESCO CAT II Centre, Japan. In India she is on the Advisory Committee of a number of institutions together with the ICH committee (ABICHU) Ministry of Tradition Countrywide Crafts Museum and Hast Kala Academy, New Delhi.

Laila Petrie

Laila Petrie

Laila Petrie is the chief government of 2050, an impartial consultancy operating to assist a swift changeover to a sustainable long term at some of the world’s premier organisations by way of research, innovation and strategic scheduling. Laila previously held roles with Globe Wildlife Fund (WWF) and Marks and Spencer, such as WWF World wide Guide on cotton and textiles. She is the Joint Chair of the UNFCCC Vogue Market Charter for Weather Action, and is effective with a range of brand name, NGO and governmental shoppers on vogue and sustainability.

Michael Sadowski

Michael Sadowski

Michael Sadowski operates throughout the clothing and footwear marketplace to advance circularity and local weather methods. Previously, Michael led system and external partnerships on Nike’s Sustainable Business & Innovation workforce, and also led the company’s function on circularity. Prior to Nike, Michael was a Vice President at SustainAbility, Inc. the place he suggested purchasers across sectors and served acquire multi-stakeholder collaborations together with the Zero Discharge of Harmful Chemical substances system and the Shut Loop Fund. Michael has been highlighted in a selection of publications which include BoF, Vogue Company, and Sourcing Journal.

Anannya Bhattacharjee

Anannya Bhattacharjee

Anannya Bhattacharjee is the Global Coordinator of Asia Flooring Wage Alliance, an Asia-led global alliance of trade unions and labour rights activists that campaigns to deal with poverty wages, gender discrimination and liberty of affiliation for garment employees in Asia. She is President of Garment and Allied Personnel Union in North India. She is 1 of the several female trade union leaders in India and has helped build grassroots labour-similar collaboration involving organisations in North The usa, Europe and Asia.

Nina Marenzi

Nina Marenzi

Nina Marenzi is the founder of The Future Materials Expo, the premier dedicated showcase for innovative sustainable textiles, with instructional qualifications info on sustainability in textiles and manner displayed throughout, additionally a seminar series operating alongside the expo, frequented by thousands of fashion specialists every single year. The expo was born out of her dissertation “Organic Cotton: Explanations Why the Fashion Field is Dragging its Heels” for her MSc in Sustainable Agriculture and Rural Enhancement at Imperial University. Marenzi has previously worked as a guide on several environmental plan initiatives.

Hannah Phang

Hannah Phang

Hannah Phang is the head of advertising and advocacy at Futerra, the world-wide improve company on a mission to make sustainability so appealing it gets ordinary. Futerra is fiercely independent, the greater part-owned by ladies and a founding B-Corp. Phang is on the steering committee of the UN Style Charter for Local climate Motion, co-chairing the doing work team on advertising and marketing broader local weather action. She retains a BBA from Parsons the New School for Structure in Strategic Structure and Management and a MFA from the University of Visual Arts in Design and style for Social Innovation. Phang has an entrepreneurial track record in constructing interaction and sustainability initiatives for start-ups, non-earnings and Fortune 500 companies.

14:15 BST / 09:15 EDT / 06:15 PDT

Squander: Chasing the Holy Grail of Circularity

Edwin Keh, CEO, The Hong Kong Exploration Institute of Textiles and Attire

Lauren Sherman, Main Correspondent, The Company of Fashion

14:40 BST / 09:40 EDT / 06:40 PDT

H2o & Chemical substances: Fixing Fashion’s Air pollution Issue

Boma Brown-West, Director Harmless and Wholesome Products and solutions, Environmental Defense Fund

Dawn McGregor, Business Unusual Guide, China Water Chance

Sanjeev Bahl, CEO, Saitex

Sarah Kent, London Editor, The Business of Fashion

15:10 BST / 10:10 EDT / 07:10 PDT

Staff Rights: Devising a New Social Contract

Ayesha Barenblat, Founder & CEO, Remake

Sanjeev Bahl, CEO, Saitex

Ritu Sethi, Founder-Trustee, Craft Revival Believe in and Editor, Global InCH

Anannya Bhattacharjee, Global Coordinator, Asia Ground Wage Alliance

15:35 BST / 10:35 EDT / 07:35 PDT

Components: Reimagining Fashion’s Supplies Combine

Daniela Ibarra Howell, Co-Founder & CEO, Savory Institute

Nina Marenzi, Founder, Long run Materials Expo

Nishanth Chopra, Founder, Oshadi

16:00 BST / 11:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Emissions: Fixing Fashion’s Weather Crisis

Laila Petrie, CEO, 2050

Michael Sadowski, Impartial Sustainability Advisor

Hannah Phang, Head of Marketing and Advocacy, Futerra

Brian Baskin, Deputy Editor, The Organization of Fashion

16:30 BST / 11:30 EDT / 07:30 PDT

Transparency: Tackling Misinformation and Poor Information

Linda E. Greer, International Fellow, Institute of General public and Environmental Affairs

Sarah Kent, London Editor, The Organization of Trend

17:00 BST / 12:00 EDT / 08:00 PDT

Closing Remarks

summit2021

Next Post

Developer appoints new head of household division | Business Observer

Tue Apr 6 , 2021
FORT MYERS — Seagate named Development Group named veteran construction professional Alain Filiault vice president of its household unit. In major the complete-support firm’s household division, Filiault acquires and develops web pages, manages jobs with regard to time and funds and builds teams, according to a statement. Filiault is at […]